yikes! ads????

I just discovered today that WordPress has been inserting ads into WordPress blogs. The ads don’t appear on the screens of people like myself who have logged into their WordPress accounts, but evidently the ads appear to folks who aren’t logged in with a WordPress ID. How sneaky!

If WordPress bloggers don’t want these unsolicited ads to appear with their blogposts, they must pay $30 a year! Yikes!

I appreciate that this basic version of WordPress has been a “free” service for the 5 years I’ve been here, but this freaks me out. Now I wonder how long WordPress has been displaying material that’s not-of-my-creation between my words and my photographs. I feel violated. I had no idea.

Furthermore, I’m concerned about the content of these ads. If you have seen any of these ads, please tell me. Have you noticed any questionable subject matter? If so, please let me know immediately so I file a complaint with WordPress. There is a way I can report inappropriate ads, but I would need to send in a screenshot and the date/time the ad appeared.

If I discover that these WordPress ads are incompatible with my views, I must find a different platform for my blog. Or maybe I need to resume scrapbooking via the traditional method and use all that patterned paper I bought before the budget was so tight?

Some people may say that $30 per year for an ad-free blog is an inconsequential expense. However, our family operates on a single income so that I am able to home educate our children. Reading books from the library and blogging are my indulgences. I’m on the free fun program during this season of my life.

Ugh. Anyway, I guess it’s time for me to stop ranting and go to bed. If you see ads here, please leave me a comment about them and understand that I neither have control over their content nor receive monetary benefit from them.

Gratefully,
Heather

2 thoughts on “yikes! ads????

  1. Aunt Bianca says:

    I honestly have not noticed any ads while viewing your blog, but it is possible I just didn’t notice them. I do not have a log in to Word Press, so I’m sure I would see them from what you describe. I will watch for them in future and provide screen shots (including date and time) if I notice them in the future. Signed – Thankful for your blogging!

    • Heather says:

      I’m so glad that you haven’t noticed any ads, Bianca. Terry and the kids responded in the same way. Hopefully WordPress will leave me alone since I’m obviously not a heavily-traveled site:) Thank you for offering to look out for my blog’s continued well-being!

Leave a Reply

