up

Photobucket

I’m sure that millions of people fly commercially each year. But this was the first time for our children. [And only the second time for me:]

Photobucket

Our takeoff was on time and smooth.

Photobucket

Such a different ride than Papa’s Cessna.

Photobucket

This Boeing 737 had 3 seats on each side of the aisle, so we split up. Girls on one side and boys on the other.

Photobucket

Thick clouds prevented our view of the ground for most of the flight. Despite some bumpy turbulence, none of us felt sick.

Photobucket

It was encouraging to see the sun shining over the blanket of clouds. I need to remember that when the clouds so often cover our Michigan countryside.

Those clouds cleared by the time we soared over Colorado. However, I was too occupied with looking for an un-occupied restroom to photograph the scenery:)

3.5.11

4 thoughts on “up

  1. Kristine says:

    Fun to see the kids so excited about flying, and what a blessing for them to each get a window seat.

  2. Aunt Bianca says:

    In my opinion, flying commercial is fun enough to ALMOST be worth the hassle of going through security at the airport and the hurry up and waiting. The take off, landing and views from up above are my favorite! So happy all of you got this opportunity, AND were able to help our sister-in-law/step-sister.

    • Heather says:

      I’d fly again in an instant:) I’m trying to forget the body scan trauma:( And, although I know that I don’t want to sit right next to the airplane restrooms, I’ve made a mental note to sit a bit closer to one if we’re able to fly again. Sitting near the wings made for a looooonnnnggggggg wait for a potty turn. Becca and I watched for 1 of the 2 restrooms to be available, but each time they were vacated, someone closer to the restrooms would hop up and beat us to it. Other than those factors, the flight was terrific!

Leave a Reply

