our most unlikely Savior

Photobucket

For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us;

And the government will rest on His shoulders;

And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor,

Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace.

Isaiah 9:6

 

He will send them a Savior and a Champion,

and He will deliver them.

Isaiah 19:20

 

Desiring to know this child Savior (and His plan for us) more fully, the children and I have printed our own copies of this 52 Week Bible Reading Plan.

Will you join us?

Have you discovered a Bible reading plan that you enjoy?

2 thoughts on “our most unlikely Savior

  1. Kristine says:

    I’ve read my Daily Bible for three or four years now. I’ve really liked the format and the commentary, with the exception that it’s NIV. In 2-3 years, I stopped by August or September. But this year I started in October, when the NT starts, because I really, really wanted a plan for reading the New Testament. I’ve liked it so much that I’ve stopped reading because I don’t want it to end. How silly is that!? I’m looking for something NT or also considering a “Jesus in the OT” book that I saw recently, something with a daily plan though.

    • Heather says:

      Interesting thought process, Kristine:)

      NIV isn’t my favorite translation, either. NASB has been my preferred version for the past 10 years or so. Christian and Rebecca both use NIV Bibles though. I think the NIV might be “easier” because it parallels modern language patterns, but I’ve been considering switching the children over to NASB as well. We read enough living literature with complex sentence structure that they might be comfortable with NASB now. What version do your kids read?

      I’m ashamed to say that I became bogged down in a study guide last year and wasn’t consistent in my Bible reading. The study guide was quite thought-provoking and change-prompting, but was too complicated for daily use. I may still continue it on an occasional basis. However, I need a daily dose of pure Scripture without seemingly endless fill-in-the-blanks.

      I conducted a lengthy online search before landing on the reading plan I linked here. I look forward to reading different types of Scripture on their assigned days of the week.

      Anyway, I appreciate that you shared about your personal Bible reading, Kristine. Sorry for the extended post in the comment section here [grimace].

Leave a Reply

