An 8-point!

Do you remember that Trail Cam pic I posted a few months ago?

The buck in the forefront of that picture is now divided between my frige & freezer.  Christian was out in the blind with Terry when it was shot.  And Rebecca walked out afterward to help track the deer.

Out of respect for any vegetarian or squeamish readers, I’ve elected NOT to include the after photo.  His antlers clearly match those in the photo, though. [If you WANT to see the after photo, please visit my husband’s blogpost here.]

So, I’m no longer a hunting widow.  I’m grateful for Terry’s perseverance and skill as a marksman 🙂  I’m thankful for God’s bounty!

Now my challenge will be to balance venison cooking and our ongoing educational demands.  I like to prepare as many meals as possible to be frozen for later use.  Pray for me, please.  Raw meat and I don’t get along very well.

4 thoughts on “An 8-point!

  1. Cynthia says:

    YOU GO GIRL. I don’t touch any wild game (LOL). If the guys want it processed they have to do it themselves around here!

  2. Kristine says:

    Oh, THAT is so cool! I’m sitting here with my mouth hanging open! We frequently have deer, but my dh is not a hunter. And honestly, we live so backwoods that I am sure we could hunt on our property. I’m off to Terry’s blog to see blood and guts or whatever he’s sharing, lol.

    P.S. Your chocolate peanut butter bar things are in my oven as I type. I’m hoping it will somehow make up for the (almost) entire bag of mini-Reeses that I ate last night–which I just confessed to my dh!

    • Heather says:

      Yup. We’re backwoods rednecks here 🙂 Hope Terry’s blog pic won’t give you nightmares!

      P.S. Interesting chocolate/peanut butter logic, Kristine–LOL! Maybe you’ll share some of the cookie bars with the rest of your family???

Leave a Reply

