School Stuff

Photobucket

My students requested weekly assignments this year (as opposed to daily).  Rebecca posted her assignment grid on the wall next to her desk.  [I use Homeschool Tracker Plus to plan, schedule, and print.]  Of course, I still expect the children to accomplish roughly a day’s worth of work on each day, but they prefer this illusion of flexibility 🙂

Photobucket

If you’re looking for a gentle way to introduce typing to your children, try this link.  Free and fun.  The graphics and dialogue were goofy–probably geared toward younger students.  Nevertheless, my budding typists voluntarily spent more time than I required as they enjoyed speeding through levels and stages.  Both graduated from Dance Mat Typing within a 2-week period.  And I’ve since noticed them using the touch-type method (rather than their former hunt-and-peck method) for a composition assignment.  Hurray!

3 thoughts on “School Stuff

  1. Cynthia says:

    It is nice to have a weekly list! It gives them some ownership and flexibility to see for themselves how to accomplish their goals. GOOD JOB!

  2. Kristine says:

    Good for them to be working with weekly schedules! I cracked up over your x’d out “illusion of,” lol. I looked at the Dance Mat typing for Trevor. He’s not thrilled with his Mavis Beacon. He saw what I was doing and scoffed at it. What do you bet he’ll be asking for it, though, when typing is assigned again tomorrow? Muhahahaha!

    • Heather says:

      Kristine, I borrowed a Mavis Beacon CD-ROM from the library, with plans for my children to continue typing with her. Christian and Rebecca must not have read the positive reviews from other homeschoolers, because they despise Ms. Beacon. Now, I’m wondering if Trevor secretly alerted them of his experience!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

