The End of Spring Reading Thing 2009

Photobucket

As the spring season ended, so must this challenge.  However, I don’t want to remove this lovely widget from my sidebar.  Perhaps I’ll find another place to put it?  Thanks again to Katrina @ Callapiddar Days for hosting the event.  As with previous challenges, I always welcome an excuse to avoid housework in lieu of reading!

  • Did you finish reading all the books on your spring reading list? If not, why not?
    • Of the 20 books in my initial post, I completed 17.  Two of those are in progress.  [Because they’re HUGE!]  One of those was a library loan request that sadly never arrived.
  • Did you stick to your original goals or did you change your list as you went along?
    • I discovered 13 more books from other Spring Reading Thing participants and library shelves.  Those discoveries pushed my official spring total to 30 books.  And although I don’t track children’s books for this challenge, I probably read another dozen books aloud as well.
  • What were your favorite books that you read this spring? My top 3 were:
    • A Flickering Light by Jane Kirkpatrick was edgier (in a positive way) than Kirkpatrick’s earlier work.  A careful study of coping mechanisms to loss and guilt, including the devastating effects of depression on a family.  She features an excellent depiction of the slippery slope leading to inappropriate attachment.  Well-researched historical fiction that enlightens the soul along the way.

    FlickeringLight (2)

    228315_1_ftc_dp

    • 1 John by God. Especially chapter 1, verse 7.  Reading 1st John inspired me to create this image for an earlier blogpost.

    351003_1_ftc_dp

  • Least favorite? Why?
    • Serendipity by Louise Shaffer was my least favorite. The hint of historical fiction interested me, but I was not impressed with this author’s style, nor her concept of faith. Flashbacks related by two different characters were poorly incorporated–these flashbacks didn’t seem to have been told by the men speaking them. As a side note, this is certainly NOT an appropriate novel for a teenager, IMHO.
4 thoughts on “The End of Spring Reading Thing 2009

  1. Just Mom says:

    You did a great job! I think A Flickering Light sounds like something I would like.

  2. Cynthia says:

    Great summary of your spring reading thing! I never did get around to joining, but I did read a lot of books.

  3. Kristine says:

    Great reviews. I haven’t read Kristen Heitzmann (sp?) in ages, but I enjoyed her. I’ll have to grab a book or two of hers again!

  4. Heather says:

    Thanks for your comments, dear ladies!

Leave a Reply

