Dandelion Days

Photobucket

“Would you like to taste some salad?”

Photobucket
Photobucket

“Or soup?”

Photobucket

Christian discovered that dandelion stems will separate into curlicues.

Photobucket

“Maybe I can make some sort of biofuel from dandelions?”

Photobucket

Would you believe that Dad mowed the lawn just yesterday?

Photobucket

Winds were buffeting this dandelion so violently that it could not remain still for my photo.

Photobucket

Golden ate his portion of dandelions and then fell asleep under the picnic table.

5.7.09

6 thoughts on “Dandelion Days

  1. Cynthia says:

    If someone could find a use for dandelions we’d make a MILLION dollars (LOL)! We have a TON of them.

    I noticed you’ve been busy changing your blog look. Have made the changes yourself? I’m glad you have your slogan back up at the top again!

    • Heather says:

      Thanks for noticing the new look, Cynthia. I selected a different theme from the free options available at WordPress. This theme enables a custom header, so I scanned one of my scrapbook papers as a background and used my Microsoft Picture It software to add the slogan thingy. I’m thinking that the muted floral print might be too drab with the similar slate color surrounding it, though. What is your opinion?

  2. Kylee Johnson says:

    Aren’t dandelion leaves edible? It seems like I’ve seen them at the grocery store. You should throw them in with your leaf lettuce!

    I also like the new look of your blog. Nice job.

    Could you let me know when you have more information about that upcoming used book sale?

    Have a wonderful day, Heather!

    Kylee

  3. Cynthia says:

    How clever to scan in a piece of scrapbooking paper. I think it looks nice. What do you think looks too drab? The background of the slogan? What would happen if you added some green text to the slogan like the color of the tabs on your nav bar? Perhaps you could try a green that matches on just the words in the center or something? I’m impressed that you were able to do it yourself. Having a template to start with probably helps. I’m having a gal help me update my blog look. It’ll probably be a few weeks before it’s ready though.

    • Heather says:

      Cynthia,

      You’re right that it probably would have looked better to use green text for my slogan. The trouble is that my old software doesn’t allow me to alter the image once it’s saved. I’d have to start all over again. Grrr. Although it’s pretty, I think the scrapbook paper seems too muted with the slate-blue template background. I’ll probably just let it be for now, though, because I’m too lazy to redo it:)

      I’ll be looking for your new blog look. How exciting!

  4. Cynthia says:

    Oh. Now I see what you’re talking about.. the solid color background and your paper. I think it looks great. I don’t think I’d change that at all and honestly now that I look again the green lettering might have been too much and look out of place with the nice blue colors already going on there. You probably have just enough green in your sidebar title thingies. I’m TOTALLY IMPRESSED that you were able to do all of that yourself.

    The gal who is helping me with mine said it might be done as early as next week. I can hardly wait. I wasn’t in a hurry, but now that she’s given me some ideas and we’ve picked out some elements I’m getting excited!

Leave a Reply

