Botany Chapter 3

Photobucket

space

Meet Venus.  After reading about carnivorous flowers in our Botany text, Circuit spent his allowance money on a Venus Flytrap.

space
Photobucket

space

He drew this detailed illustration of his new pet plant. Circuit watched Venus trap a ladybug yesterday. Yum.

space
Photobucket

space

One of our assignments was to dissect a flower.  I was shocked when the local florist stated that a single Stargazer Lily stem cost $7.  More than I had in my wallet!  I winced and mentioned that we really only needed one flower.  And that it didn’t need to be a perfect specimen for our project.  The florist said that one stem had broken earlier in the day.  For $2?  Sure.

space

Photobucket

space

During our dissection, we had difficulty understanding the difference between the anther and the filament.  We later figured out why.  It seems that florists must remove the anther (the part which holds pollen) from the filament before they display these cut flowers.  A few days later, a new bud opened, displaying for us the elusive anther.  Mystery solved.

space space
Photobucket

space

Another assignment from Exploring Creation with Botany was to create a Play Doh model of a flower.  Displayed here is Button’s model.  We are truly enjoying the projects in this book.  The children and I highly recommend it.

3 thoughts on “Botany Chapter 3

  1. Cynthia says:

    I LOVE the drawing the clay model. Those are AWESOME! We did the botany book 2 years ago and really enjoyed it. Also, GREAT pic of the venus flytrap. I tried to take some pictures of ours, but they didn’t turn out very good.

  2. Kristine says:

    These are awesome. I love how he bought the Venus Fly Trap with his own money, and I love the tie ins with the drawing and clay model. You should send those on to Jeannie, I bet she’d love them for her website…

    We have the Botany book but we’ve never actually used it. (The light box thing intimidated me from the get go!) Ds is currently in the Swimming Creatures book, and he is growing his own Triops (kind of like Sea Monkeys). FUN stuff. I love Apologia’s Elementary Science!

  3. Heather says:

    Thanks, Cynthia and Kristine, for your glowing compliments.

    Science has never been my forte, but Jeannie’s books make the subject interesting and do-able, at least!

    Kristine, you’ve reminded me that I need to photograph our light box. That project intimidated me, too, so I delegated it to DH:)

    I’m glad Trevor is enjoying his Swimming Creatures project. We plan to use that book next fall. Care to sell it when you’re finished???

Leave a Reply

