American History

We’re working through the early 19th century in our American History studies.  History is one of our favorite subjects here at Expedition Academy.

Listed in our beloved TruthQuest curriculum [visit blog review here] is the following book:  Art of the New American Nation (published 1972), by Shirley Glubok.  [We borrowed it via interlibrary loan.]

I didn’t plan to read the entire book to the children.  I didn’t expect my dear children to read the whole book either.  I simply asked that they leaf through at least half of the book and look for an image that somehow appealed to them.  Each child took their turn.

Circuit’s choice:

Photobucket

“Exhuming the First American Mastodon”
1806-1808
Charles Willson Peale (1741-1827)
Oil on canvas, 49 x 61½ inches
displayed at www.lewis-clark.org

If you’ve met Circuit, you know that he spends hours building things and contemplating how gadgets work.  He will likely become an engineer of some sort.  He read the information alongside the image (from the book), and explained to me both the purpose for the machine and the way it moved.  Interestingly, the pumping machine was invented and painted by the same man.

Button’s choice:

Photobucket

from the collection of

The Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Decorative Arts and Design

Smithsonian Institute

If you’ve met Button, you know that she has artsy leanings.  She enjoys drawing fancy letters and houses.  Button will likely grow to be an architect or artist of some sort.  Regarding this needlepoint sampler, Button was amazed that an 8-year-old girl stitched such a complex design.  She’s been begging me to teach her to cross-stitch.  I must make time for that lesson this fall.

It’s a pleasure to observe how our children’s interests uniquely color their studies.

2 thoughts on “American History

  1. Cynthia says:

    I LOVE how you blogged about your history assignment. I’m working up to posting some blog entries about our first 9 weeks of school. Hopefully I’ll get that done this week while I have 6 days inbetween fall and winter sports.

  2. Kristine says:

    Great post, Heather. I’m going to look for this book at my library. I’m always looking for something slightly different to keep Trevor engaged. 🙂

Leave a Reply

