Laundry Adventures

Several other moms and I were comparing notes about surprises we’ve found in the washing machine.  When our children [or husbands!!!!] have failed to empty their pockets before shedding their dirty clothes.  One mom declared that her children (ages 7, 10, and 11) each have a designated day to wash their own laundry.  If they forget to empty their pockets, they’ll only ruin their clothes.  Hmm.

space

Over the past several years, I’ve instructed our children regarding laundry processes.  I’ve haphazardly required their participation in laundry tasks.  But not in a consistent manner. They are physically and cognitively able to complete every necessary step.  It’s time.

space

Today, Circuit (age 10) proudly gathered his laundry.  A few minutes later, I heard the washing machine whir.  I tried to resist the urge to ask, “Did you check your pockets?”  I truly want my children to own this job.  But I couldn’t avoid the question.  At least not on his first full day as laundry boy.  From the other room, I could hear the washing machine door reopening.  Apparently, Circuit had not remembered to check his pockets.  Here is what he found:

space

Photobucket

space

chapstick, a flashlight filter, and an empty mint wrapper.

space

I don’t want to imagine how Burt’s Bees chapstick would have coated Circuit’s clothing and our washing machine.

space

Maybe I should pray for new washing machine funds???

space

Conclusion:  At the time of this posting, Circuit has successfully washed, dried, and put away his laundry.  Nothing ruined (of which I’m aware)!  Stay tuned for further laundry adventures.

2 thoughts on “Laundry Adventures

  1. Cynthia says:

    Yea. I’m thinking that would have made a BIG mess of the washing machine.

  2. Kristine says:

    Actually, the washing machine is not usually the problem. It’s the dryer. Ask me how I know. 🙂 Or maybe don’t ask me!

Leave a Reply

