Spring Reading Thing 2008 Finale

Back on March 25th, I accepted a bloggy reading challenge.  I was one of 226 people across the globe who participated in this year’s Spring Reading Thing.

Thanks again to Katrina at Callapidder Days who hosted the challenge.

srtlg-2.jpg

Did you finish all the books you had planned to read? If not, why?

My list of proposed reading blossomed uncontrollably throughout the spring season.  I should have counted the number of books on my initial list.  Oops.  I added books that were listed on others’ blog posts.  I added  volumes while working at the library.  Still more from advertisements in Today’s Christian Woman magazine (also snatched after a shift at the library:)

At the conclusion of this spring season, I tallied 29 works of fiction, 10 books of the Bible, and 2 entire non-fiction pieces.  I also read aloud at least a dozen books to my children this spring.

Most of my reading is courtesy of my local library and state interlibrary loan service.  Three novels on my planned reading list are not yet available through my library.  I completed all others on the fiction portion of my list.

I discovered that I had been overly ambitious with the non-fiction portion of my list.  I tend to inch my way through non-fiction.  Thus, I am in the process of reading 4 of those proposed non-fiction books.  Ashamedly, there are 7 more books of the Bible that I had planned to read.  It’s impossible for me to read the Bible quickly, though.  I’m always underlining, making notes, and journaling as a verse or passage jumps at me.

Do you think the challenge helped you read more? Or maybe helped you read books you otherwise wouldn’t have?

Somehow, this challenge gave me “permission” to just sit and read more.  I’d never win awards for housekeeping, but I’m sad to say that I neglected more housework this spring:(  I must develop a more healthy balance between reading and cleaning.

Reading was my main passion as a child.  I mourned the loss of reading time when my children were tiny.  Now, I’m grateful that I again have time to read.  It’s a luxury I value.

What was your favorite book you read this spring?

My favorite work of fiction was A Passion Most Pure by Julie Lessman.  This excellent debut novel was refreshingly passionate for the Christian fiction genre.  The author aptly describes her style as “edgy Inspirational.”

My favorite work of non-fiction was the book of Philippians.  Especially chapter 4.

Least favorite?

Probably Sweetbriar Autumn by Brenda Wilbee.  This was the 5th in a series of 6 books about the settlement of Seattle.  The first several books were intriguing and well-developed.  Unfortunately, the series fizzled out, and became more of a loose patchwork of quotes, rather than the richly woven storyline with which it began.

Did you discover any new authors or genres that you now love?

Melanie Wells was listed repeatedly on Spring Reading Thing lists of others.  I’m glad that I chose to add her works to my list.  Her psychological suspense is on the outer realm of my typical reading.  Now I’m eagerly waiting for the library to purchase the 3rd in her Day of Evil series.

Are you interested in another “Fall Into Reading” challenge this fall?

Sure.  Another excuse to ignore the vacuum!

3 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing 2008 Finale

  1. Ellie says:

    So you did enjoy Melanie Wells’ books — I bought the first one a few months back (it was on the bargain table), and even though I was faintly intrigued I was put off slightly by it not being my style — but maybe I will revisit again this summer.
    The thing with vacuuming is that you always have to vacuum the next day again anyways, so it doesn’t hurt to skip it 🙂
    Have a great summer!

  2. Wow — you read a ton of books this spring. Great job! And really, I think reading is far more important than housework anyway. 🙂

  3. […] Scribbles52. Jenny at My Buckling Bookshelf53. Karen @a time for everything54. Dynamic Uno55. Heather @ Joyful Wandering56. Ronnica (Tale of a Kansas Girl)57. Susan (Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books)58. Megan (Leafing […]

Leave a Reply

